This is a preview of the new Deli charts - we are working on finalizing them by the end of 2013.

Go to the old Top 300 charts


Makaya McCraven

Makaya McCraven "The Fours"

Makaya McCraven has released the latest single, "The Fours", from his forthcoming album, In These Times, which is due out via International Anthem / Nonesuch / XL Recordings on September 23rd.

This new project features a wide array of highly talented musicians including Jeff Parker, Junius Paul, Brandee Younger, Lia Kohl, Macie Stewart, Zara Zaharieva, Marta Sofia Honer, Greg Ward, Irvin Pierce, Marquis Hill, Matt Gold, Greg Spero, Joel Ross, De’Sean Jones, and Rob Clearfield.


Makaya McCraven "Universal Beings"

Makaya McCraven has announced that his next full-length album, Universal Beings, will be released by International Anthem on October 26th.

This will be a double album and will feature contributions from many of McCraven’s talented friends including harpist Brandee Younger, Dezron Douglas (Bass) , Joel Ross (Vibes), and Tomeka Reid (cello). Below is the trailer video for the new album.

You Can also stream the LP’s first two singles, “Black Lion” and “Atlantic Black”.


Makaya McCraven Where We Come From (CHICAGOxLONDON Mixtape)

Makaya McCraven and International Anthem announced last week that he will be releasing a new mixtape on June 29th called Where We Came From (CHICAGOxLONDON Mixtape) via Apple Music. The mixtape features the following musicians Makaya McCraven (drums), Soweto Kinch (saxophone, vocals), Theon Cross (tuba), Joe Armon-Jones (keys), Nubya Garcia (saxophone), and Kamaal Williams (keys).

Below is the first part of a well-shot documentary on the recording process of this album from International Anthem. You can find all four episodes of the series here.

On July 1st at the Apple Store on Michigan Ave. McCraven and Sons of Kemet will be performing and will host a discussion panel after the performance.


time|space: an exploration in sonic improvisation

Royal Hands have partnered with Broken Shaker at The Freehand Hotel to create a new music series called “time|space: an exploration in sonic improvisation”. This will be a series of improvised performances from different bandleader's organizing a new trio each month. The goal is to offer "improvised psychadelia that embodies higher level contemplation through emotion, acceptance of imperfection, and patience within a larger body of work”. These events will take place the last Thursday of every month and will feature the talents of Jon Deitemeyer, Quinlan Kirchner, Matt Ulery, Xavier Breaker, Daniel Villarreal-Carrillo, Rob Clearfield, Anthony Abbinanti, and more.Jon Deitemeyer, Quinlan Kirchner, Matt Ulery, Xavier Breaker, Daniel Villarreal-Carrillo, Rob Clearfield, Anthony Abbinanti, and more.

This series kicks off May 31st at The Freehand Hotel with a trio organized by the talented Makaya McCraven, who released a tremendous LP, Highly Rare, back in November via International Anthem.


- news for musician and music pros -